Carpenters – Thursday’s Reality Shot

Standard

It’s Thursday, I’m back to share some excitement with you.

There hasn’t been the danger of collaps here although our barn looks rather weak at some points. But my husband and I weren’t too scared about it when the carpenters (Bänninger & Son) showed us the problem zones with a frown the other day.

However, it must be said that I want the barn fixed befor the first snowstorm because I don’t like to think of me pulled out of bed in the middle of the night due to a strong wind tearing down the barn and the house. You have to know that there is only a quite thin wooden wall between bedroom and barn.

They’ve finally arrived with heavy logs and beams and a lot of ideas. There are sawdust everywhere and – in the middle of the excitement – three carptenters, Ueli and Peter Bänninger and Peter Giger, working. What’s more, I can watch them doing their impressive work. I’m a huge fan of this trade.

If you want to peek at what other brave people are sharing (not the pictures you usually see on a blog) than visit Mockingbird Hill Cottage.

»

  1. Now, that’s a great reality shot! Good to see that help is on the way for your barn. I certainly understand the need to get it braced and made stronger for the winter. Hope to see more photos of the process.

    Thanks so much for joining in!

    xo
    Claudia

  2. I love the smell of sawdust… it brings back memories from childhood when my dad was building our house. I enjoyed watching the construction process also. Good to see that your barn will be safe this winter.

  3. Oh that would make me nervous too! It looks like a house of cards – glad you are getting it ready for the windy weather – it is a beautiful picture! Ann

  4. I love this shot. So full of interesting texture with all those beams and the ladders. I’m glad the carpenters are getting things fixed before the snow comes.

    • You know, in Switzerland we build for „eternity“. The house is about 200 years old, it will last for two other centuries and stay longer than humanity (unless there will be a change of „things“ soon.

  5. Pingback: First Snow – Erster Schnee « Babajezas Wundertüte

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

