Aus nichts etwas machen – Making something of nothing

Standard

In letzter Zeit denke ich viel über die Zukunft nach. Zwar tun ja alle Offiziellen so, als ob sie alles im Griff hätten. Klar, ein paar Schwierigkeiten gibt es noch, nicht zuletzt die Eurokrise. Das verschuldete Griechenland von der EU in die Pflicht genommen, hat mittlerweile ihre Regierung „ausgewechselt“. Italien muss seine Verschuldung alleine in den Griff kriegen, so gross sei das Land, die EU könnte die Last nicht übernehmen. Frankreichs und Deutschlands Schuldenberge wachsen und wachsen.

In letzter Zeit muss ich oft an das Buch „Die Lichtung“ von Jean Hegland denken, das ich vor mehr als 10 Jahren gelesen habe. Es ist das Szenario des Zusammenbruchs der Zivilisation. Es geht nur noch ums Überleben. Womit die Suppe kochen, wenn kein Strom mehr fliesst? Woher das Essen nehmen, wenn die Vorräte im Keller aufgebraucht, der Supermarkt leer geplündert ist? Schliesslich finden die beiden Schwestern Nell und Eva Zuflucht im Wald.

Wie unsere Gesellschaft sein wird, wenn die Wirtschaft tatsächlich zusammenbricht, was dann noch funktioniert und was nicht, kann ich mir nicht vorstellen. Jean Hegland hat eine Vision, die mir realistisch erscheint. Ich denke aber, dass Energie, um unser verbräuchiges Leben zu ermöglichen, nicht mehr einfach da ist. Wir werden vermehrt in unseren Häusern sitzen und froh sein, wenn wir einen Pullover mehr anziehen können.

Auch unsere Ideenreichtum ist dann gefordert sein. Altes Wissen bekommt neue Bedeutung: Flicken etwa, Kräuter kennen, aus Altem etwas Neues kreieren, Gartenbau und kochen können. Praktische Fähigkeiten werden an Bedeutung gewinnen. Hingegen sind an der Börse Zahlen jonglieren oder Fingernägel lackieren zu können, nicht mehr so wichtig. Auch der Konsum wird massiv eingeschränkt sein.

Nun, ich habe mir vorgenommen, mich schon einmal im Bescheiden sein zu üben. Vielleicht ist mein neustes Projekt unbedeutend in den Augen vieler. Mir jedenfalls bringt es ungemeine Befriedigung. Auf dem Estrich lagern in Schachten viele Knäuel Wolle, aus denen sich so nichts Rechtes mehr machen lässt, weil von jeder Sorte, Farbe und Art einfach zu wenig vorhanden ist. Gestern nun habe ich eine Kiste genommen und aussortiert, was sich zu einer Decke verarbeiten lässt. Aufbrauchen, was herum liegt und Staub ansetzt. Die Idee kommt von „The Garden Bell“ und das Muster von Ravelry.

Die Decke wird mich warmhalten, wenn Holz und Strom knapper werden. Und, hey, wird sie nicht schön? Ich hätte das nicht gedacht.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the future lately. What is going on around us? What about the financial crisis in Greece and Italy, the USA? What will happen to us when the markets crash? Unfortunatelly, the officials are still talking as if there are no serious problems that couldn’t be solved. And, hey, we live in Switzerland, everything’s just great here, at least better. However, I don’t believe that we are well when the big neighbouring countries go down and break apart.

I’ve been thinking a lot about a book I read about 10 years ago. It is a vision of our world without zivilisation from a woman’s point of view. There are some questions answered, like how to cook without an electrical stove, where to get food after the pantry is empty and the supermarket plundered by hungry people. In the end Eva and Nell leave their house and go into the forest back to mother Nature.

Certainly, we have to be creative. Some skills are more useful than others after the big crash. It isn’t vital anymore to know how to make money from money because there won’t be money. It’s not important to have painted finger nails. We will be glad if we know how to mend things, how to create something new of somthing old. Agroculture is important. We will have to use human power because there won’t be enough energie to get all the machines and cars going. Our pampered lifes will change drastically.

So, let’s stop pretending everything is great and life as we know it is continuing. Let’s be humble and decent. We don’t have to have it all. As a start – some might think it’s not worth talking about – I’m crocheting a blanket from leftover yarns. The idea is from „The Garden Bell“, the pattern (Ripple Blanket) from Ravelry.

And you know what? I haven’t thought the blanket would turn out so beautiful. It is such a pleasure to make it thinking about what colour to use next. And it will keep me warm when the temperature falls. I’m sure we all need a sweater more to keep as warm. Not the most unpleasant of my thoughts.

 

»

  1. Do you really think civilisation will fail? I think the world will be much changed but I’m not convinced we’ll all need to live off the land. All the raw materials and labour and infrastructure will still be there, we will just need to find a different way to make proper use of it. But I’m with you on embracing thriftiness, that has to be a good thing. And the crochet is looking so cheerful😀

    • Doesn’t look too good, does it?
      Many countries don’t have enough money to keep the infrastructure in shape.
      Raw materials like uranium and oil are coming to an end sooner or later.
      Still, there is hope …

      Have a good weekend.

  2. Oh ja, sie wird schön, deine Decke. Ich kann deine Gedanken nachvollziehen. Das Buch habe ich (noch) nicht gelesen, aber es hat mich neugierig gemacht und ich werde gleich morgen in der Bibliothek schauen, ob sie es haben.
    Ich denk auch, dass es uns allen gut täte, wenn wir uns etwas bescheiden würden.

    Herzliche Grüße
    Regina

  3. I agree about getting back to the basics and trying to be decent to each other, whether that is person to person or country to country. I love Kate at the Garden Bell, she is amazing. Looking forward to seeing you blanket.
    Meredith

  4. Hello,
    Just discovered your blog. Thank you for your thought’s in the post! I am trying to recycle my wool as best I can and have sort of promised my self not to buy any more wool for a while until I’ve used up as much in my stash as I can. I like how your blanket is turning out and the colours do sort of go together🙂

    Leah

  5. Most of western society is based on cheap food, housing and energy/fuel. Prices are only going up. Part of the problem is that the working population base only continues to shrink and won’t be able to sustain and support the ever expanding aging and/or disabled population. Now if people would just have more babies to raise the population growth rate back up to 2.13%.

    It never hurts to know how to be self-reliant. To learn how to choose between wants and needs. To prepare to feed and care for your family and others. http://providentliving.org/ is a good place to start.

  6. Pingback: First Snow – Erster Schnee « Babajezas Wundertüte

  7. Ich war einige Zeit am Suchen nach einem Nebenjob fuer Schueler Mit einem Hund Gassi gehen etc. hab ich fast 2Jahre gemacht irgendwann war es mir aber zu doof, vorallem wegen dem wenigen Geld.

  8. Pingback: Berg und Tal – Up and Down « Babajezas Wundertüte

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

