Am liebsten würde ich … – Where my heart is

Standard

Am liebsten würde ich meie Tage damit verbringen, mir zu beschaffen, was ich zum Leben brauche. Anders gesagt, ich vergesse, dass ich mir mit meiner Arbeit als Lehrerin den Lebensunterhalt beschaffe. Es wäre für mich einfacher, im Garten Kartoffeln anzubauen, weil ich dann im Winter einen Vorrat davon im Keller hätte, oder die Ziege zu melken, weil ich Milch und Käse fürs Frühstück brauche. So gesehen wäre mein Traumberuf also Bäuerin. Und als mir mein Götte mal zu einem Geburtstag ein Buch von Kathrin Rüegg geschenkt hatte, fand ich ihren Lebensplan ganz attraktiv und durchaus nachahmenswert; dieses Leben mit Schafen im Kanton Tessin, Wolle färbend und spinnend, und daneben Bücher zu schreiben, die sich natürlich sehr gut verkaufen. Tja, es ist anders gekommen. Ich habe keine Schafe, spinne keine Wolle (noch nicht), schreibe zwar ein bisschen, aber Geld bringt das nicht wirklich ein. Nein, ich bin Lehrerin und habe das Glück, mit einer Teilzeitanstellung genug zu verdienen, so dass ich mich in meiner schulfreien Zeit mit meinen hundert Hobbies beschäftigen kann, mit denen sich auch Kathrin Rüegg das Leben schön macht: Konfitüre kochen, Unkraut jäten, das Haus unterhalten, stricken und häkeln. Kurzum, ich führe ein Leben, in dem ich meine kreative Seite doch sehr gut ausleben kann.

Doch manchaml kommt mir dann eben mein Brotjob in die Quere, dann nämlich, wenn ich eigentlich gar keine Zeit habe, um in die Schule zu gehen oder Arbeiten meiner Schüler zu korrigieren, wenn mich die Schule und ihre Pflichten daran hindert, das zu tun, was mir wirklich am Herzen liegt, dann wenn mein Kopf sprudelt vor Ideen, die ich nur zu gerne in die Tat umsetzen möchte.

Zum Glück bin ich pflichtbewusst. Deshalb sitze ich da mit einem Stapel von Voci-Prüfungen und träume davon, die rot-grünen Socken fertig zu stricken, ein paar Törtchen zu garnieren, einen grünnen Froschbruder zu nähen. Aber vielleicht bin ich ja bald fertig mit Korrigieren.

I’d rather grow potatoes because I am hungry, or milk a cow because I want to drink hot chocolat for breakfast than earning money in order to buy food. In other words, I often forget that I work because I need money for life. I would love to be a farmer. When my god-father gave me a book of the Swiss writer Kathrin Rüegg who left the city to live in the mountains with her sheep and write about it, I considered this a perfect lifestyle. Note to myself: Don’t tell your sister, she would laugh out loud and call you a spinner).

I don’t keep sheep, I don’t dye wool and spin it (not yet), but as a part-time teacher I have the time for all my hobbies: Making jam, weeding my garden, sewing curtains, knitting socks. To cut a long story short, I conduct a life that has room for my creative mind. This happens when teaching withholds me from doing what I want to do from all my heart, when my head is full of ideas.

However, sometimes I fight with my job or the time I need to do my job. Sometimes I feel like not having the time to teach, grad papers, to do what teaching is about. Fortunatelly, I am very dutifull, therefore my boss has no reason to be angry. That’s why I am sitting here with a pile of tests dreaming about knitting my red and green socks, decorating cupcakes and sewing a little brother or sister for my tree frog.

Maybe you have the time to check at Tami’s Amis what others are doing today. It’s WIP Wednesday.

»

  1. Oh Honey I know exactly how you feel. I love working with my little ones, but when they are having a tough day I dream of a crohet hook or knitting needles in my hands. I think housework gets in my way of creating, but someone has to keep up with things. I am vowing to give myself a couple of hours tonight to get some crohet done. It gives me something to look forward to.
    Hugs to you,
    Meredith

    • Me too, me too. I finished the dull work (the students have been so lazy lately, because there are only a few weeks until their time in school is up and they want to have fun (which I have to understand as they told me). And I’m home alone. How nice is that? I wish you a lovely evening watching tv. I might watch a movie …

  2. Me too! I keep trying to convince Mr. Right that we need chickens. And some of those goats that faint when you startle them. So far, no luck. Hoping for you that the grading passes quickly and easily so you can pull out all the fun stuff!

  3. I too hpoe that you can get it done quickly and then move on to those things that make you happy. Stripey socks are definitely a happiness maker. Enjoy the time you have. School will be over soon. Will you get to spend the summer free or do you teach over the summer too?

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

