Ferien – Give me a break

Standard


I want to break with a bad habit of mine. And I’m writing it down here because it’s a promise to myself. It starts with a joke I can’t find funny anymore. At the beginning of all holidays we used to say: „Finally a break, finally time to work.“ I want to change this although I like to work and I have a lot of ideas how to spend my „free“ time. What seems to be a long time at the beginning, is shrunk at the end and has gone by in a rush. .Sure, the list of things I’ve done during a vacation is long, but I am more tired than before and ask myself where the time has gone.

Today is the first day of a holiday I especially love: Hay break. 12 days with an (almost) empty schedule are laying before me. This time there won’t be any big projects, no plans besides drinking tea and chatting with friends and neighbours (let’s go for a bere, Marianne), cooking decent meals for dinner,  there is no to-do-list. I’m staying at home doing nothing special. It’s just the way I need my life to be at the moment. If the weather gods are with us (they are not at the moment. It’s snowing), I’m going to do a bit of gardening. And I will finish the cardigan I started a while ago.

I found this crayons yesterday and tried them out. Fortunately, they are still in good shape. The drawing (my work in progress) is a metaphor of what I wish for my holiday: nothing special but colourful, enjoying the little things without intention, going with the flow. When was the last time I did this?

Was eingentlich als Witz gedacht ist, ist trotzdem nicht wirklich lustig: „Endlich Ferien, endlich Zeit zum Arbeiten!“ Zugegeben, ich arbeite gerne. Es gefällt mir, im Haus zu werkeln, im Garten zu wüten, aufzuräumen und auszumisten. Aber es ist auch anstrengend, und oft bin ich dann am Ende der Ferien müder als zu Beginn. Ein bisschen ratlos frage ich mich dann, obs das denn nun gewesen ist. Denn anfangs der Ferien schaue ich auf viele Tage, die zu meiner freien Verfügung sind, und dann ist die Zeit vorbeigegangen wie im Rausch. Klar, die Liste, der erledigten Dinge sieht toll aus, aber irgendwie hatte ich  mir die Ferien doch anders vorgestellt.

Heute beginnen meine Lieblingsferien, Heuferien oder Pfingstferien. 12 Tage mit einem praktisch leeren Terminkalender liegen vor mir. Diese Ferien gibts keine grossen Projekte, keine zu-erledigen-Liste, ausser Tee trinken mit Freundinnen und Nachbarn und anständige Mahlzeiten kochen. Wenn die Wettergötter gnädig gestimmt sind (jetzt sind sie es nicht, es schneit), werde ich ein bisschen im Garten werkeln. Schliesslich möchte ich mein rostfarbenes Jäckchen fertig stricken.

Gestern sind mir Filzstifte in die Hände gefallen, und um auszuprobieren, ob sie überhaupt noch brauchbar sind, habe ich diese Zeichnung angefangen. Sie ist ein Bild für das,was ich mir für meine Ferien wünsche: Unspektakuläres ohne grosse Absichten tun, die kleinen Dinge geniessen. Das Leben farbig gestalten und tun, wozu ich im Moment grad Lust habe. Wann habe ich das zum letzten Mal gemacht?

»

  1. That sounds like such a lovely idea, and one I should probably take to heart. I’m terrible for writing enormous lists of things that I ’should‘ get done when I next have a holiday. Kicking back and doing whatever comes next sounds like a brilliant plan.

    I love your drawing. Such cheerful colours🙂

  2. The world is so rush, rush, rush. I have to remind myself often to slow down and enjoy the magic in everyday moments. I hope you find the magic in your holiday (and everyday!)

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

