Lion King

Standard

I haven’t finished my red cardigan yet. And I am in the middle of Lion King production.

A while ago I happend to find the pattern „Kinf of the Jungle Pillow“, a free crochet pattern of lionbrand but didn’t get around to use it until last Saturday. I crocheted the body, the head, the ears, the legs and a long tail in no time. Making the mane was fun too.

But then I had difficulties to make a lion of all those parts, which means it was easy to sew the legs and tail onto the body. However, when the head was attached too, the animal did not look like a king of the jungle at all. I removed the ears, placed them differently. The same happened with the mane. But the lion did still not look like a lion. I placed the eyes three times and stitched the nose twice as much.

I have to confess that I got a bit mad. Actually, I was in the mood to rip the animal appart and start from the beginning, even crochet a different head. But with the help of a photograph of a lion (the internet) and a piece of extra mane the sheep morphed into a lion. Mission accomplished. I’m relieved (failure wasn’t an option). Anyway, I’m making a second one because I colleage of mine asked if I could make him one for his baby. He actually asked if I could make him a LION after he had seen the picture of my King of the Jungle on Facebook.

The plan is to modify the original head slightly to give my nerves a break.

 

 

Das rote Jäckchen ist noch nicht ganz fertig und ich bin trotzdem mitten in der Löwenproduktion.

Vor einiger Zeit fand ich bei lionbrand ein Muster für ein „King Of The Jungle“ Kissen, das mir sehr gut gefiel. Aber ich kam nicht dazu, es auszuprobieren bis schliesslich der vergangene Samstag der perfekte Löwentag war. Köper, Kopf, Beine, Ohren und Schwanz waren schnell gehäkelt. Auch die Mähne war ein Klacks und machte richtig Spass.

Die Probleme fingen an, als ich das Tier zusammensetzen wollte und es so gar nicht löwenähnlich ausschaute. Ich nahm also die Ohren nochmals weg, nähte die Augen dreimal an verschiedenen Stellen an und stickte die Schnauze mindestens sechsmal. Als ich schon total entnervt war und das Kopf und Körper am liebsten wieder auseinander gerissen und einen neuen Kopf gehäkelt hätte, schaffte ich es mit der Foto eines Löwen (aus dem Internet) und einem extra Stück Mähne doch noch, das undefinierbare Tier in einen Löwen zu verwandeln.  Mission accomplished! Ich bin stolz.

Jetzt mache ich noch einen zweiten, wobei ich den Kopf leicht abändere, um meine Nerven beim Zusammennähen zu schonen. Tatsächlich hat mich nämlich ein Kollege gefragt, ob ich ihm einen LÖWEN für sein Baby häkeln könne.  Das hat man davon, wenn man Bilder auf Facebook postet.

So, that’s it, back to hook and yarn. I’m linking this with Tami’s amis, because it’s Wednesday.

 

 

»

  1. Oh yes, the mane totally makes it. I get annoyed when things don’t turn out as they should. I find checking the photos of other people’s finished project on Ravelry usually gives me a good idea of what I can expect.

  2. It’s so frustrating when thing don’t go the way you want them too! I see shades of sheep in your lion’s head, but I’m sure that with the modifications you have planned you’ll get the right preportions. You could always use different colors and make your collegue a sheep! Who doesn’t love a little lamb?! No matter what you chose – have fun!

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

