This Was Supposed to Be Fun – Es sollte Spass sein

Standard

We postponed our vacation until next weekend, which is not bad at all. Lots of things can be done now. Furthermore a package arrived yesterday. It’s called „Wollwanderkiste“, which means „travelling box filled with yarn“. The idea is to take out what you like and replace it with adequate material. This is what I took out:

This is what I put into the box to mail it to the next recipient (probabely bring it to her myself).

I liked the red Cherry Hill Tree yarn (a 100 percent merino) as much that I started to wind it this very morning neglecting my other wips. Do you remember my ball winder?

As I wasn’t quite please how the ball turned out. Why do I get such lousy balls anyway? I decided to rewind it. But look what I got instead. A total mess! It will cost me the whole day to get it into a nice ball. And I don’t even know what to make with the yarn …

Work in progress Wedensday? You bet! I’m linking this with Tami’s Amis and checking out what others ar up to. Hopefully, they have more fun than I do.😉

»

  1. What a great idea with the traveling basket, I never heard of it before! I always somehow manage to make a mess of the yarn while I’m trying to wind it – your colourway is reminding me of the sunset.

  2. Love the idea of the travelling basket! The other day I managed to mess up a 400g ball as I couldn’t find an end. After 1 1/2 days I managed to get a ball of wool back. The colour is really pretty, hope you find something nice to make with it.

  3. I have a ball winder and I really don’t like it. I do not like how the yarn gets all tangled up when you reach the end of the ball. Now I just make a regular old ball and I like it so much bette. Love the traveling box idea.
    Meredith

  4. Hm. I love my ballwinder. I don’t think I’ve ever had an issue with it. I do notice that yours is set up differently than mine: yours is sideways to my eye. Maybe that has something to do with it?
    Either way, the yarn is beautiful ♥

  5. Maybe it’s a tension issue? Usually I get a mess like that if I’m winding with too loose a tension.

    In any case, once you get the mess sorted, it looks like lovely yarn!

  6. I love the idea of that travelling basket of yarn, do you know, I think I might start one here!

    Good luck with that unravelling! It happened here yesterday when a whippet made a birds nest out of a skein I’d inadvertently left lying about. Luckily it didn’t take too long to sort, hope yours is the same😀

  7. Oh I LOVE the idea of the travelling wool basket! I’d be up for that as long as the trading was local. Our postal costs are outrageous.

    Sorry about the winding mess. I’d be inclined to suggest socks but I prefer some nylon for that. Maybe a shawl? Or some fingerless mitts?

  8. The travelling basket is a cool idea! I’m sorry about your yarn tangle, I hope its sorted now! The colour is gorgeous and I’m sure it’ll be worth it in the end🙂

  9. For this very reason I’m afraid to buy a ball winder! At least when I do it by hand I know what I’ll get (tired usually, but with nice center pull balls!!)
    The traveling basket is wonderful!

  10. Pingback: So macht Autofahren Spass – The Only Way to Travel « Babajezas Wundertüte

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

