Manly Dark Brown – Männlich dunkelbraun

Standard

Unfortunately, the yarn I had to order for the kilt hose was not the same colour as the one I had started with. Actually, I wonder why I was surprised when I noticed the difference. What was I supposed to do? I still had a few hours to think about a solution for the problem.

Firstly, I dyed the finished socks with the green peel of walnuts but the two colours were still visible. Then I dyed the socks with IDEAL (dark green), textile colour for wool, silk and nylon. Still visible, probabely because I knew there was a difference. Then I chose the hard way and took IDEAL black (only one little bag). And Ta-dah! The grenish socks turned into a dark, manly brown. Don’t they look perfect! I am very pleased. Florian, the parcel is on its way.

Blöd, blöd, blöd! Warum war ich überhaupt überrascht, dass die später bestellte Wolle für die ollen Schottensocken überhaupt nicht gleich aussah? Doch was sollte ich tun? Mir blieben noch ein paar Stunden bis zur Vollendung … Zuerst also färbte ich die fertigen Socken mit grünen Baumnussschalen, von denen es fast keine mehr gab. Die Frabe war zwar nicht schlecht, aber der Unterschied leider immer noch sichtbar. Da griff ich zu IDEAL Textilfarbe für Wolle, Weide und Nylon in Dunkelgrün. Noch immer sah man den Unterschied. Nun mussten drastischere Massnahmen ergriffen werden: Ich kaufte ein Päckchen IDEAL schwarz, löste aber nur ein Beutelchen im Wasserbad auf. Ta-dah! Ziel erreicht. Die dunkelbraune, männliche Farbe gefällt mir sehr gut! Wohl weil ich zwischendurch arge Zweifel am Gelingen des Vorhabens hatte, bin ich nun vom Resultat doppelt erfreut. Florian, das Päckli ist unterwegs.

I’m linking with Tami’s amis as always on Fridays. Hop over and check out what others have accomplished. It is inspiring.

»

  1. Hhmm, meine Grossmutter sagt immer, dass sie keine dunklen Socken mehr stricken kann, weil sie die Maschen nicht mehr sieht. Und doch wünschen sich die Männer in der Verwandtschaft manchmal dunkle Socken.
    Ich könnte ihr ja vorschlagen die Socken in Weiss zu stricken und dann zu überfärben.

    Deine Schottensocken jedenfalls gefallen mir sehr gut!

  2. So beautiful, Regula. Your work is very nice and Genki sagte is right, no one else will notice, they will just be astounded by the beauty of them. I do the same thing with sewing. Pointing out all of the short comings before anyone else sees them; thing is, they never would have even seen it if I hadn’t pointed it out. I’m trying to be better about not showing everyone the niggly little bits here and there and just enjoying a job well done and mistakes managed well; and you managed this challenge quite well. Never doubt it.

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

