Was meint ihr? – What do you think?

Standard

While I was in Canada for five month three years ago, I had a car. And in its trunk there was a sleeping bag, a flashlight and a three bottles of water. My father-in-law, who had bought the car, thinks that these items are very essential and therefore a must in every single car because you never know …  Do you keep them in your trunk too?

Als ich vor drei Jahren in Kanada war und sogar ein eigenes Auto besass, hatter mir mein Schwiegervater einen Schlafsack, eine Taschenlampe und zwei grosse Wasserflaschen in den Kofferraum gelegt, weil diese Dinge seiner Ansicht nach überlegenswichtig sind und in jedes Auto gehören. Man weiss ja nie …  Seid ihr für Notfälle gerüstet?

Personally, I find it absolutly unnecessary to have a sleeping bag in the car where I live. I would never sleep in the car and freeze to death here. You know, if I had to walk home from the places I usually go, like school, Weinfelden or Wil or any place between these places, I would be home within three hours the most. I could easily walk because I know the region like the pocket of my trousers so to speak; the building, the trees, the hills, the shortcuts and the crossroads with the traffic signs. No way that I would get lost and had to stay in the car waiting for help. On the other hand, during winter (the snowy part) I wear heavy shoes and have a jacket, scarf and mittens in the car.

Ich persönlich finde es absolut unnötig, einen Schlafsack im Auto zu haben, denn ich würde nie im Auto schlafen müssen und dann erfrieren. Wenn ich eine Panne hätte, könnte ich innerhalb von drei Stunden nach Hause marschieren, denn wohin ich auch immer gehe, es liegt innerhalb Affeltrangen, Weinfelden und Wil. Ich kenne die Gegend wie meine Hosentasche; die Gebäude, die grossen Bäume, die Hügel, die Abkürzungen und die Abzweigungen und Kreuzungen mit den Wegweisern. Nie würde ich mich verirren, nie müsste ich im Auto ausharren, bis Rettung käme. Aber natürlich trage ich im Winter, wenn Schnee liegt, schwere Schuhe, eine dicke Jacke, Mütze und Handschuhe.

To make a long story short: I have finished my blanket from the square swap: And because it is so lovely, colourful and fun, I will show it around in the car. You never know …🙂 Do you have a sleeping bag or a blanket in your car?

Der langen Rede kurzer Sinn: Meine Dekce aus dem Quadrate Tausch ist fertig. Ich werde sie im Auto ausführen und herumzeigen, weil sie schön und bunt und lustig ist und: Man weiss ja nie …🙂 Habt ihr einen Schlafsack oder eine Dekce im Auto für Notfälle?

»

  1. Ja, wir haben eine Picknickdecke (eine ganz gewöhnliche , ausgemusterte Wolldecke)
    und wir waren auch schon froh darum, zb. als unser Bub im Winter in den See gefallen ist und füdliblutt im Auto sass, eingemummelt in die warme Decke.
    Deine bunte Decke ist wunderschön! Ich könnte hundert Granny-Decken besitzen und es würde nicht langweilig werden, bin ja auf dem besten Weg dazu! *grins*
    Liebe Grüsse
    Carmen

    • Ich hab auf einem Blog eine Decke gesehen, alles gespendete Grannies, alle weiss. Super schön. Ich staune selber, wie gut bei mir alles zusammen passt, denn anfangs sah es ziemlich wild aus ….😉

  2. Liebe Regula,
    ich bin ja grad autolos, aber ich hatte eine Autodecke und die war auch wichtig, weil immer einsetzbar, wenn was passierte. Ich würde nach meinen Erfahrungen nie wieder ohne Feuerlöscher fahren … Ansonsten für Kanada finde ich das Überlebenspaket schon wichtig. Dieses Land ist sooo riesig. LG aus dem beschaulichen Brandenburg. Sabine.

  3. Such fun. You put them together well. We used to have a „survival kit“ in the car but that seems to have gone the way of the dinosaur. Ambrose would probably be thrilled if I asked him to put one together.

  4. This is so gorgeous! I am so glad you write in English too. I follow you from Fort Worth, Texas and if you did not write in English, all I would have from you is lovely pictures. Your words mean so much and I feel I’m getting to know your personality. If you would like to do a guest post on my blog at http://boocoos.blogspot.com – just let me know. I found you through Natasja King’s blog Crochetime, and you can see her guest post on my blog too. So glad I found you.
    Boo

    • Hi Boo

      I’ve just visited your blog. Very nice, but I didn’t find Nataja King’s guest post. Would you help me, please. What do I have to do for guest post on your blog?

      I love the English language, and writing in English means good practice. Hähä. I’m an English teacher at secundary school in Switzerland.

      I noticed that the English blog more often than Swiss. So I thought it would start a bilingual blog to have more readers. I’ve met so many nice people in the States and Great Britain and am very happy about it.

      Have a nice afternoon. I’m going to bed now (8.30 pm). I’m an early bird.

  5. Liebe Regula, ich habe auch eine Decke aus meinem ersten Selbstgesponnenem im Auto; sie schützt die Rückbank vor Schmutz, sieht schön aus und dient im Notfall als Unterlage für hexenschußgefärdete Popos auf kaltem Untergrund. Bunte Decken wie deine liebe ich. LG Sabine

  6. Your square swap blanket is BEAUTIFUL!

    We always carry 2 small blankets in the car – when we drive in winter, we put them on our laps to stay extra warm. And if we ever had to get out and walk in the winter time, they would help us to be a little warmer. (We always wear scarves and jackets when we drive somewhere in winter.) Mr. M usually brings water in the car, but we never leave it in the car overnight – it would freeze. And he has a tiny flashlight on his keychain.

    • This is a good idea. My car is very cold in the mornings and the heating is a bit weak. Furthermore, I drive down the hill when going to school so the heating never kicks in actually.
      I think my ripple blankets would enjoy a little ride too. Happy days to you! Regula

  7. I think it’s good to have a blanket in the car – it’s useful for so many things. I also keep water as my car has a little leak… But no sleeping bag, although I have a little one that would not take up much space…

    Penny
    x

    PS – love that blanket!

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

