Stash Busting – Aufbrauchen, bevor neu kaufen!

Standard

13Januarsocken

Usually I knit my socks very simply because I like knitting while watching a movie. Furthermore I only wear woolen, handmade socks. They are nothing special to me and don’t have to be eye-catching. I never think of a pattern, only the colour matters. I’ve chosen green for my last pair of socks, that I call January13. They are finished, and I am looking forward to wearing them tomorrow.

With my pair of socks finished I lack an easy knit, because the Ajour sweater, that I’m very happy to have taken up again, needs my full attention, and is therefore not at all qualified for a movie-knit.

Ajourpulli

Should I make another pair of socks? I have lots of leftover yarn, actually a whole box of sock yarn, that testifies my sock knitting activity of the last 20 years or more. Luckily, I happned to come across „stash-buster challenge 2013“ at Linda’s crafty corner. What a great help to use up the stash.

Sockenwollresten

I’ve been thinking about how I would do it, and have decided to follow topics. Firstly I’m going to use sock yarn, secondly, the baby yarn, thirdly, the red yarn

Restenschal

Now, on to the sock yarn and an easy pattern. I’m making a scarf. Here are the first rows. 28 Stitches, doubled yarn, needles 4.5 mm, garterstitch. I’ll keep you up-dated.

Normalerweise stricke ich ganz einfach Socken, denn ich liebe, am Abend gemütlich einen Film zu schauen und dazu die Nadeln klappern zu lassen (ja, Metallnadeln sind mir immer noch die liebesten). Zudem trage ich nur selbstgestrickte Wollsocken. Sie sind nichts spezielles für mich und müssen deshalb auch nicht Blickfang sein. Ich denke nie über ein Muster nach, nur die Farbe ist entscheidend. Für meine neuesten habe ich grün gewählt. Gestern sind sie fertig geworden und ich freue mich darauf, sie morgen zum ersten Mal anzuziehen.

Jetzt da die Socken fertig sind, fehlt mir das einfach Strickzeug. Ich bin zwar glücklich, dass ich Arbeit am Ajourpullover wieder aufgenommen habe, aber er ist überhaupt nicht zum Flimmern geeignet, weil ich mich ohne Unterlass aufs Maschenzählen konzentrieren muss.

Soll ich nun ein anderes Paar Socken anschlagen? Ich habe ja eine ganze Kiste voll Sockenwolle, die von meinen Sockenstrickaktiviteäten in den vergangenen 20 Jahren zeugt. Zufällig habe ich dann in „Linda’s crafty corner“ den stash-buster challenge 2013 entdeckt. Eine grosse Hilfe, den ungenutzten Vorrat aufzubrauchen.

Ich habe mir selber Themen auferlegt. Als erstes werde ich nun Sockenwolle aufbrauchen, zweitens die Babywolle, drittens alle rote Wolle … Und ich lasse euch wissen, wie ich voran komme.

Und nun, Sockenwolle und ein einfaches Projekt. Angschlagen sind 28 Maschen für einen bunten Schal, Wolle doppelt genommen, Rippchen, Nadeln Nr. 4.5.

stash buster1

Interested? Check it out.

»

    • Ein roter Knäuel ist schon für einen KAL (von der Spitze zur Ferse und zwei auf einmal) vorgesehen. Dann ist da immer noch der ungefärbte …🙂 Das sind schon zwei Paar. Ringelsocken liegen auch noch drin …

  1. I’m doing the challenge, too. I’m sure you will be making much more detailed projects than I will. I crochet but never have attempted socks or slippers so that’s on my to do list at some point. Have fun busting your stash. 🙂 Tammy

  2. What great socks – in a great colour! They look very warm🙂

    The chicken in your previous post is fantastic, very cute!

    I’ve also noticed your new picture and information up there on the right and I think that’s a really lovely photo of you🙂

  3. Those look exactly like the socks I hope to knit soon – very basic and straightforward.

    WHAT a gorgeous sweater! I can see why it demands all your attention.

    I love your new profile photo – your hair looks wonderful in cornrows.

  4. The silver yarn for the lacy sweater si DIVINE!!! And it is a great idea to use the left-over yarn for a multicolored scarf. I have seen that many have used sock-yarn to make shawls…if you need more ideas to use your stash😉

  5. I can’t wait to see that silvery sweater finished. The sheen is so irresistable and the pattern lovely. Totally worth missing movies for. Looks like those shamrock socks will keep your toes nice and toasty. Beautiful work.

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

