Warm Hands – Warme Hände

Standard

Handwärmer3

Thanks for all the comments to the Warm Feet“ post. I’m going to knit bright red socks as they are supposed to keep the blood circulation going. Today’s post is dedicated to warm hands though. Over the last days I’ve seen many sewed warmes. I’ve been inspired to make hand warmers at Emma’s „Just Having a Yarn.

My hand warmers are filled with white beans and grape seeds I remembered having in the attic (my personal store). The fabric I used is from scraps from old, felted sweaters. Oh dear, I’m in love with this material.🙂

Traubenkerne

Füllen:Trichter

Handwärmer1

Handwärmer2

These hand warmers are an easy project, either hand- or machine sewed as you please. I find hand sewing very relaxing, machine sewing on the other hand is work. However, if the machine is handy, it’s quicker. The hand warmers can be heated in the microwave (for one and a half minutes) or on the stove. Keep them in your pockets, mittens, under your shirt, and they will keep you warm an cosy for a while.

Now, I am off for a walk in the snow and cold.

Vielen Dank für die vielen Kommentare zu meinem „Warme Füsse“ Beitrag. Ich werde demnächste rote Socken stricken, denn sie sollen die Blutzirkulation anregen. Der heutige Blogbeitrag ist den warmen Händen gewidmet. Ich habe verschiedene Ideen aufgeschnappt, inspiriert haben mich die hand warmers bei Emma’s „Just Having a Yarn„.

Meine Handwärmer sind mit Bohnen oder Traubenkernen gefüllt, die ich noch im Estrich hatte. Der Stoff, den ich brauchte, sind Stoffreste meiner Sammlung alter Pullover, das Material für die verschiedensten Einsatzgebiete. Die Handwärmer sind sehr einfach zu nähen, entweder von Hand oder mit der Maschine. Kreise ausschneiden, 1 cm vom Rand entfernt Ober- und Unterlage mit kleinesten Vorstichen zusammennähen, bevor die Runde fertig ist, mit Kernen füllen und fertig zunähen. Dann mit der Näh- oder Overlockmaschine zusammennähen und/oder mit Zierstichen (Knopfloch-, Feston- Überwindlingsstich) umnähen.

Die Handwärmer im Mikrowellengerät (ein einhalb Minuten lang) oder auf dem Ofen aufwärmen, in die Jackentasche, unters Hemd oder in die Socken stecken. Sie halten ein Weilchen warm.

Sodeli, dann gehe ich mal auf einen Spaziergang in den Schnee und die Kälte hinaus.

»

  1. Wow, that was quick. Yours are lovely. I’m not quite up to sewing in the round on my machine, I have a hard time just going straight.
    How would you heat them on the stove? Do you mean a wood stove?
    Clever idea of the bottle top for filling them up! I will be using it in future.
    Enjoy your walk. My son is playing a hockey match this afternoon so I shall have my warmers in my pockets!

    • Yes, a wood stove or the heater of the central heating if they are hot/warm enough.
      I’m sitting next to the wood stove. Phu, it’s warm! Enjoy the hockey match. You might put some warmers in your shoes too.🙂

  2. Very clever idea!! I think I’m going to make up several this weekend for my kids who ride their bikes to school in the mornings. We don’t get snow here, but it has been in the low 30s when they leave and they are complaining that their hands get too cold. Thanks!!

  3. I love the idea. I must make some for my husband as he goes out early in the morning to a cold car. We are getting snow the rest of the week so I had better do it quickly!🙂

  4. Tolle Idee, das werde ich heute Abend gleich mal ausprobieren – meine Tochter hat nämlich ständig kalte Hände. So kann sie sich die Hände früh auf der Fahrt zur Schule wärmen.
    Danke!

  5. These might work to warm feet too. You could make them a little bigger and tuck them under the sheets before bedtime (down at the end where your feet will be).

    In the old days people used baked potatoes as hand warmers for long winter journeys.🙂

  6. Pingback: 30 Tage 30 Dinge

  7. Deine Handwäremer sind klasse! Ich habe *immer* kalte Hände und diese Plastik Handwärmdinger mag ich überhaupt nicht! Jetzt muss ich nur noch überlegen wer mir seinen ollen Pulli gibt…oder ich strick schnell 2 Teile…ich freu mich schon
    Dein Blog ist toll!

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

