I Am In Love With Books

Standard

Bücher2

I’m a book lover. There are books all over the house, some old, some new: in the living room, in my room, in the bedroom, on the landing, in the kitchen, in the attic, in the bathroom, in the tv-room …

This has to stop, because there isn’t any room for more books. Nontheless, it took me a while to get used to the idea of holding an e-reader instead of a real book in my hands. But then, my husband’s Christmas present this year was an e-reader. I like it a lot. Now I can buy any book and don’t have to pay for shipping, which is especially great as I read a lot of books in English. If I wanted to order them second hand at Amazon, the postal fees were as expensive as the e-reader version. Furthermore, I don’t have to wait for it. Thirdly, ten books weight as much as one book. And last but not least, the e-reader has a red case.🙂

e-Reader

However, there are a few books I bought a while ago, and will read enjoying the printed word the more. And there is one occasion too, when I just can’t take the e-reader with me: I like reading while taking a bath. So here you see my current bath read. I don’t mind at all if it gets wet.

Badewannenbuch

I’m finishing today’s „A Favourite Thing Saturday“ post with my first book ever. I was very fortunate to have a mother, who loved books and found it worthwile to buy books not only for her but also for us children. The author of „Regula“ is a famous local writer, originally Italian. He was a primary school teacher and had a deep understanding of people’s feelings and actions. He wrote children’s books and fiction for adults, mostly about people from this county, but also the life story of his father (Der Scherenschleifer). I met Dino Larese twice, the first time when I was a child, the second time as an adult. When I read a story by him, I hear him reading it.🙂

RegulaLarese

„Regula“ is the story of a little girl who loses her kitty and finds it again eventually.

Happy End

Im linking with „A Fouvourite Thing Saturday“ at Claudia’s where you can find lots of people’s favourites.

»

  1. I love books too and I was definitely never going to get an e-reader but I got one for my 60th birthday and I love it, best thing is you can enlarge the print and read in the dark, I take it everywhere with me now. I still like books though 🙂

  2. I am a reader, too, with books all over the house and always reading several at one time! Haven’t gone to the e-reader yet but I saw some books free for my husband’s Kindle and think I might have to give that a try. So cool that you met that writer, the book sounds lovely and sweet, bet it has awesome illustrations too. Thanks so much for sharing at Claudia’s so I could meet you.

    Mary

  3. Regula, I love to read also, and I have an e-reader that is wonderful for all the reasons you have stated. I also love to hold a book in my hand, feel the pages and textuer so some books I still buy. I think having the best of both worlds is terrific. I love the book Regula, how special is that?
    hugs to you,
    Meredith

  4. Oh my goodness, Regula – how perfect to have that favorite childhood book with your name as the title!!

    You know that I love to read. I can’t get enough of it!

    Thanks so much for joining in this week!

    xo
    Claudia

  5. I got my first ereader about a decade ago and absolutely loved it, until someone knocked it off the headboard and cracked the touch screen….just after they stopped making that model.😦 I was so thrilled to get a Kindle Fire when those came out! Paper and ink are great, and the smell of old bookstores makes me absolutely giddy, but not everything I read has to be that format.

  6. Is that where your beautiful name came from? What a pretty illustration on the book cover too!

    We have books all over the place – mostly used. I try not to buy very many books now, but get them from the library instead. Enjoy your new e-reader! (I like to read in the bath too – or sometimes crochet.)

    • My name is Latin. It means little queen. Regula is the saint of Zurich together with her brother Felix. Therefore both are common names in Zurich, where my parents grew up. I have a brother who is called Felix (means the happy one). If you ever meet someone called Regula, she must be Swiss.🙂

  7. What a gorgeous cover of your „Regula“ book, so sweet. I have a collection of „Trudy“ books from my childhood!! I’m resisting the e-book, just like I resisted the world wide web many years ago … maybe I too will succumb in time?

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

