Ausgetragen – Worn Out

Standard

Tricotmaterial

Last Sunday I felt like emptying out my closet as I’ve never found anything to wear although having a full wardrobe of clothing. I guess you know what I am talking about. Anyway, look at this pile of worn out, bleached, torn and too short t-shirts. Some of them I had worn for more or less 10 years. If I get rid of clothes, they are only rags not worth being worn by any other person any longer.

Am letzten Sonntag musste ich einfach meinen Kleiderschrank ausmisten, denn in letzter Zeit hatte ich immer öfter das Gefühl nichts zum Anziehen zu haben, obwohl der Schrank übervoll ist. Jedenfalls kam ein grosser Haufen ausgebleichter, löchriger, ausgeleiherter und zu kurzer T-shirts zusammen, die für jede Kleidersammlung zu schade und nur noch für Lumpen geeignet sind.

I cut the t-shirts into long stripes I will use to make a bag or a rug. I don’t know yet. The longer the stripes the better. So I went in circles around the back and front until I reached the armpits. Then I cut off the sleeves and went in rounds around the neckline, which gave  3 or more metres more.

Also begann ich, Streifen zu schneiden, aus denen ich vermutlich eine Tasche oder einen Teppich machen werde. Ich schnitt immer in Runden vom Saum her um das Vorder- und Rückenteil bis zu den Armlöchern hoch. Dann schnitt ich die Ärmel ab und schnitt noch weiter in Runden um den Halsauschnitt, was nochmals 3 oder mehr Meter mehr Länge gibt.

Tricotschn1

Tricotschn2

Now how to bind the stripes together? Wind up the first stripe. Cut a hole into the ends of both stripes. Put one stripe through the other (green through black) and pull the other end through (green through green).

Nun, wie binde ich die Streifen am besten zusammen? Ich schnitt in die Enden ein Loch, schob dein einen Streifen durch den anderen (also grün durch schwarz) und zog dann das andere Ende durch das erste Loch (grün durch grün). Dann sanft anziehen, damit der Knoten nicht zu hart wird. Aufwickeln.

Tricotstreifenzus1

Tricotstreifzus2

Tricotstreifenzus3

Tricotstreifenknäuel

Two are done. On to the third. These old t-shirts will keep my hands busy for a while. 

Zwei sind geschafft. Auf zum dritten. Diese alten T-shirts werden mich noch ein für ein Weilchen beschäftigen.

What are you making? Please share, it’s Wip-Wednesday at Tami’s Amis.

tami_wip

Do you want to know what I made with the hems?

Willst du wissen, was ich mit den Säumen gemacht habe?

»

  1. T-yarn is a lot of fun, but kind of hard on the hands. Looking forward to your project!

    P.S. I use the hems as headbands. Doubled up (with a twist or two if needed) they are wonderful for keeping my hair out of my face.🙂

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

