Nistkästen – Birdhouses

Standard

Vogelhaus1

I’m leaving next Sunday. That’s why a lot of things need to be done.  For example, I’ve hung up the three nesting boxes or (as the American say) birdhouses. It’s a chore I’ve wanted to do the last two weeks but never found the time. I almost forgot but Caruso reminded me yesterday. He or his offspring will be back next spring looking for a place to nest. 

Because birds don’t like new houses that much, it’s the perfect time to hang them up now. They will be well aired next spring. As I am a coward when  it comes to climbing up a ladder, it took quite some time to find the perfect places. The houses should face sunrise, stay dry and be cat-safe. I finally chose a pear tree and a cherry tree not too close to eachother and our house. The third nesting box hangs on the barn wall. 

Vogelhaus2

 

Bevor ich nächsten Sonntag nach Nepwort abreise, gibt es einiges zu erledigen. Heute zum Beispiel habe ich endlich die drei Nistkästen aufgehängt, die seit zwei Wochen herumstehen. Fast hätte ich sie vergessen, wenn mich nicht gestern Caruso daran erinnert hätte. Er oder sein Nachwuchs wird im nächsten Frühling hierher zurück kommen und einen Brutplatz suchen.

Ich bin ein Schisshas auf Leitern, nicht der Höhe wegen, sondern weil sie wackeln. Deshalb musste ich gründlich prüfen, wo ich die Nistkästen aufhängen wollte. Sie sollen einerseits nach Osten schauen, trocken bleiben und Katzen sicher sein. Schliesslich wählte ich einen Birn- und einen Kirschenbaum aus, die nicht zu nahe beieinander oder beim Wohnhaus stehen.. Der dritte Kasten hängt an der Scheunen-wand, geschützt vom Dach. Weil die Vögel nicht gerne in neue Häuser ziehen, ist jetzt die beste Zeit, um sie zu platzieren. Bis zum Frühling sind sie schön ausgelüftet und bezugsbereit.

Vogelhaus3

Where would you like to stay and raise a family? 

Wo wolltest du wohnen und eine Familie grossziehen?

»

    • It depends on the weather where a birdhouse should face. Here the bad weather comes from the west, therefore the birdhouse faces east. I should have mentioned that, but sunrise sounds nicer. I don’t know about your place.🙂

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

