Hot and Humid

Standard

Fan.jpg

I forgot what hot and humid means. But now I am enjoying it in Newport, Rhode Island. For the first time in months I actually can feel the warmth in the core of my body. I don’t complain, but I packed the wrong clothes. I’m always a little bit affraid of being cold and could not imagine that I acatually would not need woolen socks and jeans. On the bright side, theyse clothes have never been so warm before.

Trees.jpg

I’m up very early today, still a bit jet-lagged. I can hear the birds singing in the big trees around Wallace Hall were I am located in a plain dorm, that makes me remeber the time in college years ago although the rooms we shared were not so sticky and smelly. I’m thinking about making the room a bit more personal and  might buy a bunch of flowers today.

Wallacehall.jpg

My room is the second from the right under the roof.

The summer heat makes me feel I am on vacation, but actually I am not. I’m attending the Continuing Education Program PHTG/SRU Summer 2013 with an interesting schedule including lectures about About American history and literature and culture as well as fun project like a visit at Barnes and Noble in Middletown. We are staysing on the campus of Salve Regina University which has not been built as a Universitiy but includes the summer cottages and mansions of familes that where rich before the great depression. The buildings are still in their original styles and carefully maintained which means that the classrooms for example still have  fireplaces.

I have been thinking a lot about my „Personal Project“ I have to hand in after the three weeks. I’m not quite sure about it, but I’d like to make a collection of recipes. My project would cover up some conversation (imagine me knocking on people’s doors and asking if they mind sharing a family recipe with me) as well as scrap booking (I’m a quite creative person and like hand crafts as you know) and writing (the stories behind the recipes might be interesting).

Library.jpg

Anyway, if you happen to American, feel free to share a recipe with me. It might be rewarding. Who knows if the cook book will make it into the shelves of Redwood Library we visted yesterday  on the Walking Tour of Historic Newport. At least you would make me very happy!🙂 And of course I will show you the outcome of my research, writing and scrapbooking soon.

 

»

  1. I am so glad you are here safe and sound. I bet you miss the beauty of your mountains, but it is fun to travel and see new places isn’t it? And if you think it is humid there, you ought to be in Florida!
    Hugs and stay cool,
    Meredith

  2. Oh the weather on the east coast has been beastly, sorry it didn’t cool off a bit for your visit. It is hot and humid here in Maryland too and I hate that it makes everything sticky and smelly! Sorry, no recipes for your as I’m not American🙂 I do hope it cools down a bit for the rest of your visit.

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

