Never Say Never Again – Sag niemals nie

Standard

There are persons who would never knit socks. Why put so much effort and work into a thing that only covers your feet, is put into shoes and invisible? That has holes within the shortest of time? – Well, I have socks that have lasted for more then ten years although I wear them all the time.

I say I would never knit a dishcloth. Why put energy into something that is hidden in a drawer most of the time and only used for a day until it is thrown into the laundry basket? Besides, knitted or crocheted dishcloths don’t exist in Switzerland. We buy them at Landi. They come in lovely bright colours and soft fabric and cheer up your kitchen and you. 

Well, never say never again. Because I did knit a dishcolth. It’s as green as Landi’s green kind of dishcloth. I chose the lovely feather and fan pattern, which I’ve always wanted to try. This might be an excuse. But then, who cares anyway! 

Dishcloth

Es gibt Leute, die würden nie Socken stricken. Warum Arbeit in etwas stecken, das bloss deine Füsse bedeckt, unbeachtet in Schuhen steckt und innert kürzester Zeit Löcher hat? – Nun, ich habe Socken, die sind schon mehr als zehn Jahre alt ohne ein Loch, obwohl ich sie immer trage. 

Ich sage, ich würde nie einen Abwaschlappen stricken. Warum Mühe und Arbeit in etwas stecken, das die meiste Zeit in einer Schublade steckt und höchstens einen Tag lang im Einsatz ist, bevor es in die Schmutzwäsche wandert? Zudem: In der Schweiz verwenden wir keine gestrickten und gehäkelten Abwaschlappen. Wir kaufen sie in der Landi. Sie haben schöne leuchtende Farben und heitern deine Küche und dich auf.

Aber, sag niemals nie. Denn ich habe einen Abwaschlappen gestrickt, einen grünen, so grün wie die grünen Lappen von der Landi. Um die Sache etwas weniger peinlich zu machen, habe ich ein Müsterchen gewählt, das ich schon lange einmal stricken wollte. Das könnte eine Entschuldigung sein. Aber wen kümmert das schon🙂

»

  1. I am still saying never to socks, I have made quite a few but the second one seems to take forever!!!!!!! But dishcloths, I will definitely make those. Love your green one.
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  2. That was a surprise! I didn’t think I’d knit dishcloths either but it’s a pretty fun way to play with patterns. And besides knitted dishcloths are FAR superior to the store-boughts. I’d even say that crocheted ones are EVEN BETTER! Nice to have a moment with you this Friday. Have a great week!

  3. Never say never, that just means you will end up doing it! I love my dish cloths, they are fast and they work a treat. I also like socks, though I am terrible slow at them, they make me feel good!

  4. We use ONLY knitted and crocheted dishcloths in our house! But Mr. M has some cloths like yours which he uses for cleaning other things.

    Your dishcloth is very lovely and I hope you will use it – you might like it.🙂

  5. It’s lovely, Regula. I’m sure your swap partner will love it. When I want to try out a new stitch pattern, I make them into hot pads but I can see how wash clothes would work just as nicely.

  6. Beautiful pattern, beautiful color. I think you’ve inspired me to find some yarn in that color and make something awesome. Can’t wait to see your WIP Wednesday post layer today!

  7. Dein Läppli schaut aber toll aus! Herrlich frische Farbe und das Muster mag ich auch sehr gern😀. Selbst hab ich bisher noch keine genadelt. Ich find’s jedes Mal schade, wenn ich wieder ein schönes Muster sehe, aber ich brauch einfach keine da ich lieber die Spülbürste nehm😉

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

