Babajeza Design

Ungewöhnlich – Foto-Reise 51/52 – Unusual

Der 13. Juni 2021 wird in der Schweiz ein Abstimmungssonntag sein. Unter anderem geht es um die Initiative für sauberes Trinkwasser. Es ist ziemlich üblich, dass im Vorfeld der Abstimmung nicht nur im öffentlichen Raum, sondern auch auf privatem Grund Werbung für oder gegen Vorlagen gemacht wird. Um die Initiative nicht nur ideologisch, sondern auch finaziell unterstützen, habe ich mir eine Fahne bestellt und sie auch bezahlt.

Da hing sie nun, meine Ja-Fahne, am Gartenzaun, umgeben von hundert grossen nein-Plakaten an Scheunen, auf Wiesen, Holzstapeln, Schopfwänden, Fabriktoren, Mitarbeiterpassagen. Aber meine ziemlich einsame Fahne wurde in feiger und respektloser, undemokratischer Aktion abmontiert, gestolen. Der- oder diejenige hätte besser an die Tür geklopft und mit mir diskutiert, hätte sich nach meinen Beweggründen erkundigen und seine eigenen Überlegungen anbringen können. Das ist Meinungsfreiheit, das ist Demokratie. So funktioniert Politik.

Ist Plakat abhängen das einzige Argument? Davon werde ich mich bestimmt nicht überzeugen lassen. Ich hoffe, es war jemand auf der Durchreise, vielleicht mit der Absicht, Plakate zu demontieren – man liest von solch unseligem Tun in der Zeitung – , und nicht jemand aus dem Dorf. Ich hoffe auch, es bleibt unüblich.

This is my selfmade banner until the original one is back.

Three or four times a year, Swiss people of full age have the right to vote, regarding federal law, the constitution. There are inititaitves or referendums, both mandatory and optional, we can vote for. It is quite usual to hang up posters and banners saying yes or no, supporting or denying what’s on the agenda before the big day.

Next time we vote is the 13th of June. So I have hung up a poster supporting „Trinkwasser Initiative“ meaning drinkable water. Water should be clean, not poisoned by pestizides and fertilizer I think. Farmers who use these should not get any subsidies. Why should I pay with my taxes for polluted water I drink in my home? However, I know farmers have a different opinion than me. I know about their worries. Nontheless we have lived the freedom of speech since Napoleon freed my canton from Central Switzerland. Freedom of speech is a human right.

Someone took my banner down! Someone took it down although the sheds, the barns, the factury halls, the wood stacks, the meadows are full of banners saying NO to the initiative. I would never do that. If taking down a banner is the only point of view brought into a debate, I don’t change my mind. Again talkt to me. Taking down my banner is cowardly, disrespectful and against democracy. Hopefully, it was a stranger coming through and not a resident. I also hope it remains unusual.

5 Antworten auf „Ungewöhnlich – Foto-Reise 51/52 – Unusual

  1. I can fully understand your anger about your banner being removed. Same as the no-voters, you are entitled to your opinion. I do love the self-made banner you replaced it with. Hopefully it will stay put! xxx

  2. Liebe Regula,
    eine schöne Sache hast du hier gemacht und es gibt es immer wieder merkwürdige Leute, die alles nicht sehn können, es beschädigen und stehlen.
    Aber man kann ja Neues machen.
    Dir eine schöne Woche und einen schönen Tag.
    Lieben Gruß Eva

  3. That is terrible! Everyone is entitled to their opinion and should be free to express it with someone attempting to censor them. Unfortunately, we have so much of this in the United States as we become more and more politically divided. I hope you make a new bigger and better banner and hang it proudly.

    1. I’ve already got a new one (from a neighbour who doesn’t have the courage to hang it up) and hung it into my window. It’s higher up and they can’t reach it hopefully. I happened to see a car (NO-sticker on the tail) drive by very slowly and look at my selfmade banner five minutes ago. Why woud he do so I reckon … If something happens to my banner at least I have his plate number. Hopefully, I am just paranoid. 😉

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar