Essential – Essentiell

Standard

If you happen to have been following me, you know about my experiment of not spending money unnecessarily (it has started in August this year), which leads me to think about what unnecessary or necessary really means. I have bought food but ate out rarely. I have not bought any piece of clothing but knitted three sweaters (and bought the yarn for all of them). However, it’s winter, it’s Novmeber, I need something to keep me warm and happy. It’s essential. So I think I am not guilty (has anyone accused me?). I bought a bunch of buttons for 10 Swiss francs though.

Falls du meinen Blog nun schon ein Weilchen liest, weisst du von meinem Experiment (es ist im August dieses Jahres gestartet), kein Geld auszugeben, ausser es ist unbedingt notwendig. Das führt natürlich zu Betrachtungen über das Wort „notwendig“. Ich musste Essen kaufen, ging hingegen kaum auswärts essen. Ich habe keine einziges Kleidungsstück gekauft, mir allerdings drei Pullover gestrickt. Dafür gibt es gute Gründe, zum Beispiel, dass es Winter ist, dass es grauer November ist, dass ich etwas brauche, um mich warm und glücklich zu halten. Das ist essentiell. I denke also, dass ich nicht schuldig bin (wer hat mich angeklagt?). Aber ich habe für 10 Franken einen ganzen Sack Knöpfe gekauft.

Die letzte Zeit war eher hektisch, voll gestopft mit Terminen, so dass ich manchmal nur am frühen Morgen dazu kam, ein paar Nadeln zu stricken oder ein paar Maschen zu häkeln. Ja, langweilige Wochenende haben auch ihr Gutes. Mein neuster, dicker, roter Pullover ist am letzten Sonntag ein so grosse Stück gewachsen, dass ich ihn schon gestern Donnerstag ohne grosse Anstrengung fertig stellen konnte. Die silbernen Sterne (am Ende gibts einen weihnächtlichen Tischläufer) ist aus vorrätigem Garn gehäkelt (vielen Dank Vreni!).

I’ve had a busy schedule for the last few weeks. There has been knitting or crocheting time early in the mornings. So I am very grateful for boring weekends. My newest, thick and red sweater grew a lot last Sunday, and therefore I was in no hurry to complete it yesterday. The Silver Stars are going to be a table runner and are made from stash yarn (Thank you, Vreni!).

It’s fo-Friday. So please, join the party at Tami’s.

»

    • Die Wolle liegt (noch) im Schlafzimmer, wird aber bäldestens wieder nach oben getragen, da der neue Boden drin ist. Supi! Tja, es sind schon ein paar Schachteln. Habe grad noch eine Mütze gehäkelt heute Morgen, aus einem Knäuel aus der Wollwanderkiste … Erinnerst du dich? Schönen Tag noch, ich düüüüüse jetzt nach Affi.

  1. Regula, the sweater and stars are looking wonderful. Are you thinking of making some to put on the sweater? I have been watching money closely myself, but I think yarn is essential and it keeps me sane, so if I don’t have the perfect yarn in my stash, I will buy it if necessary. It is a must have!
    Hugs to you,
    Meredith

  2. I am so with you with the de-stashing and saving money.
    I used to only buy the wool for the projects I had planned, and then I received a garbage bag full of wool from my sister-in-law, and then I discovered Drops yarn…….so there is now no longer a spot of space under my bed, as I have filled every last inch with balls of wool :s
    My Drops I have, I ordered especially for projects, but the wool I received I haven’t decided what to make with it yet!
    Love the Chakra coloured buttons, I do find however that the buttons here are mind-blowingly expensive, trying to work out an alternative for that though, will let you know if I find one!!
    x

  3. Die Mützenfarbe ist einfach top!
    gefällt mir supergut und das Wetter passt!
    Knöpfe sind existentiell! *kicher*
    Bin schon sehr gespannt was du draus machst. 10Stutz sind ja schon ein Schnäppchen!
    Lg Carmen, die abends leider auch noch immer arbeitet statt an der Häkelarbeit weiterzumachen.

Thanks for stopping by and your comment. Danke fürs Reinschauen und für deine Nachricht.

